brown rice.

Standard

brown rice
noun
unpolished rice with only the husk of the grain removed.

I have a serious, hateful relationship with brown rice. I’m an adamant lover of Indian basmati rice and I have been since childhood. I also love sticky rice in my sushi…but brown rice nononono.

I found out a few months ago that within my body type I should try to avoid eating so much white food, which includes basmati rice.

No really, that’s what my face looked like when I found out that I would have to give up my beloved, beloved basmati rice. It broke my heart. In an effort to soften the blow of removing rice from my life my mom (bless her for trying) bought me a vat of brown rice. It was a Publix brand bag of rice. Now you see, anything and everything (in my very humble opinion) that comes in Publix brand is delicious.

Rewind about a month. I was sitting in my apartment and I decided to make myself dinner instead of walking the three blocks to the frozen yogurt shop and sating my appetite on that alone. I made rice and daal (a staple for any indian kid) and sat down at the table. A huge bowl of brown rice sat before me and finally, after a few deep breaths I dug in.

As soon as the rice hit my taste buds I began wailing. I DON’T WANT TO EAT BROWN RICE BUT I DON’T WANT TO BE FAT AND HOMELESS AND ALONE BECAUSE I’M NOT SUPPOSED TO EAT WHITE RICE BECAUSE IT’S GOING TO MAKE ME FAT I HATE MY LIFE.

….Okay so that’s not exactly what happened. But I did want to wail and kick and scream about it. But I didn’t. Like a dignified twenty year old I ate my bowl of rice and then watched ten episodes of Hey Arnold.

Fast forward to today. My dad brought groceries home from the Indian Market (oh yes, the special mecca for brown people to shop) and what did my little eyes behold? Brown Basmasti Rice. Are you fucking kidding me?

I was being a terrible skeptic about this, based solely on my previous experience with brown rice and my mother told me to stop being a baby. Finally she tore me away from the book I was reading and shoved a spoonful of brown basmati rice in my mouth.

fin.

4 thoughts on “brown rice.

  1. Ankush

    lol you’re so cute ❤

    But I do have to agree with you that almost anything Publix brand is amazingly delicious; even more so than the name brands sometimes.

    We have to go to yogurt tap again when you come back though 🙂 and watch lots of Hey Arnold!

    What was the verdict on the brown basmati rice though???

Leave a Reply

