travel.

Standard

All my life I’ve been saying that I want to see the world. I want to go to Asia, Europe, Africa, anywhere but where I am – which has been the same since I was a kid. When I was growing up my family took trips up and down the East Coast, I could tell you how many exits are in almost every state from Florida to Maryland on I-95. I loved this, but I was thirsty for more – I wanted to see the whole world, past the Mississippi, beyond Maine.

I almost got of this plateau that I’ve been stuck on when I was 14 and I left the country for the first time. I went on a school trip to France with my Latin class.

I had done it! I had taken my first step to becoming a certified world-traveller/globetrotter/global citizen. Unfortunately, since this trip there’s been a slam on the breaks of my travelling goals. I’ve planned trips to Rome, London, South America, and India, and for some reason every time it comes down to it something comes up and my plans are put on hold.

Ever since I’ve dreamed of the day that I get to go somewhere again, see another part of the world. I watch the Travel Channel religiously and document all the places I want to see, the places I want to eat at. And one day, if I have to sell everything I own, I’m going to go to these places.

Because of this desire, I’ve resolved to do something about it. Now. From this point on I make it a point to go somewhere I’ve never been every calendar year.

I haven’t gone anywhere this year yet so I’m going to California. I don’t know when, I don’t know how – but I’m going.

Leave a Reply

