is the stupid convention in town?

Standard

No, seriously. Is there a convention of stupid people currently gathering in Orlando to convent about their stupidity? If so they all apparently decided to dine at the restaurant that I work at today.

I have never been so bombarded with stupidity in my life. I worked an 11 hour shift today and I’m in complete awe still.

How can I organize this? Let’s just write out these different scenarios and go from there.

Idiot 1. This man comes into the restaurant and asks if we can seat him and his family. I answer that we aren’t seating any more parties for the evening because the restaurant is full. This is how the conversation goes

Man: But we’re staying at the resort
Me: Okay…
Man: So we’re supposed to get preferred seating.
Me: Yes, I understand, but priority seating applies when we’re on a wait time and it cuts your wait time in half.
Man: But we’re staying at the resort
Me: Yes, but we’re filled to capacity for the evening and aren’t able to seat any more tables – we just don’t have tables available.
Man: But we are staying in the resort…

I thought I was talking to a brick wall, seriously. I explained again that we were. not. seating. anyone. else. for the night again and finally he turned around and left.

I’m getting annoyed just writing about this now. Needless to say, today was an incredibly long day and I have an 11 hour shift tomorrow so I’m going to bed right now.

All of this makes me think of a movie I saw recently called “A Fish called Wanda” and a line where Jamie Lee Curtis responds to the statement “Don’t call me stupid” by saying, “Oh, right! To call you stupid would be an insult to stupid people! I’ve known sheep that could outwit you. I’ve worn dresses with higher IQs…Now let me correct you on a couple of things, OK? Aristotle was not Belgian. The central message of Buddhism is not “Every man for himself.” And the London Underground is not a political movement. Those are all mistakes, Otto. I looked them up.”

THE A IN THREE DAYS!

Leave a Reply

