john.

Standard

Mayer, that is. John Mayer. Oh yes, him. So I have a sort of obsession with him. That’s not true, I think he’s kind of strange and from what I hear not really all that nice in person. Let me rephrase: I have a sort of obsession with John Mayer’s voice. If his disembodied voice could just follow me around all day I would have absolutely no issue with it.

I’ve been making dinner and listening to my “drive” playlist (whatever that means, because obviously I’m not driving at the moment) and I heard a line from one of his songs (Slow Dancing in a Burning Room) from the kitchen and just wanted to shout “YES!” He is spot on with his statements about human behavior.

I’ll make the most of all the sadness / You’ll be a bitch because you can / You try to hit me just to hurt me / So you leave me feeling dirty / Because you can’t understand.

The line “you’ll be a bitch because you can” is probably one of my favourite lines ever written in any song, poem, creative piece. I say that because every time I’ve ever been in an argument with someone I’ve thought of that line because one person (or both) will be a bitch just because they can. I do it too. I’m not pointing any fingers because I know I do it too. Whether it’s being a bitch through sarcasm or just plain meanness I know it’s happening.

I just love how those lyrics nail it on the head. Even the last part you leave me feeling dirty because you can’t understand is just perfect.

I highly recommend checking out the whole song, fact. I’ll even post it on the vod pod for you!

Leave a Reply

