Bullying Prevention Month

Standard

I don’t typically post about my activism on here, maybe because I’m narcissistic and I talk about myself all the time, maybe it’s because I avoid discussing the heartbreaking real-world things that exist.

However, I make this exception tonight.

Recently, over at SimpleMedicine, a post was made (by my sisterbear, I might add) that discussed Being Bullied. Read the article here.

October is National Bullying Prevention Month and so tonight I make an exception to talk about how important it is to let the people in your life know that you are there for them, no matter what.

I recently saw this short YouTube video from The Trevor Project featuring some of the counselors that answer the Suicide Prevention Line for LGBTQ youth. The stories they share are heartbreaking. Kids who are kicked out of their homes, ostracized by their friends and family, and feel a deep, uncontrollable self loathing for who they are.

The thing about this that hits home for me is that I know people who have gone through this. I know people my age and younger who struggle with their sense of self-worth because of what other people tell them they are, and that is simply heartbreaking. No one should ever feel like they shouldn’t live anymore because of other people’s prejudices. No one should have to feel like they are unloved, or unwanted, or unaccepted. But they do. And I know that. I am only one person, but I want those people in my life to know that they are loved, they are wanted, and they are, above all things, perfect the way that they are.

You are perfect the way that you are.

It gets better.

You are not alone.

Be proud of who you are.

You do not have to go through this alone.

The Trevor Project implores supporters/viewers to let the people in their lives know one thing: that they have someone to talk to. Always and unconditionally. The project they’ve launched is titled quite simply, Talk To Me. Their website lists Warning Signs and how you can help someone who is suicidal and feeling alone.

I have been blessed to have never gone through the things that many youth go through. My family is so important to me, and their support means everything — I can’t imagine going through life without that. I know many people who have also been blessed. I know many who haven’t been as lucky and struggle with it on a daily basis. It is important to me that those people, who are so beautiful, and smart, and funny, and have so many gifts, know that they have at least one person to talk to.

You always have a friend.

Consider reaching out to the people in your life who might be internally struggling and letting them know that they are not alone. That they have someone that they can come to. That their life is worth living.

Consider standing up to people who mistreat others for no other reason than unadulterated prejudice, bigotry, and hate. People who either don’t know, or don’t care about the damage they’re doing to another precious human life.

“Things will get easier, people’s minds will change,

and you should be alive to see it.”

love, B

One thought on “Bullying Prevention Month

  1. This is precisely the important information I’d been searching for. Incredible blog. Very inspirational! Your posts are so good and also detailed. The links you come with are also very beneficial as well. Many thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

