coco

Standard

I’ve always been fascinated by Coco Chanel. My earliest memory of encountering the idea or brand “Chanel” was my through my mom, who, for a brief time, wore Chanel No. 5. Though I have clothes that I love to wear that are nothing like couture, I still have always loved flipping through the pages of fashion magazines, figuring out what people in high fashion are wearing, and essentially, learning how to dress myself over the years.

(I seem to be under the impression, however, that my career trajectory will lead me to wearing leotards/work out clothes all the time sooo…yeah.)

Tonight was Happy Dancer Slapsgiving. No one got slapped, but slapsgiving is so much fun to say! Thankful, thankful, thankful for all these wonderful people! After most of the other grads had sauntered off home, I was still full of energy and absolut. One of my peers stayed over to watch a movie after dinner and we ended up watching Coco Before Chanel. 

I love this film, which is probably why I own it. But I haven’t seen it in a long time, and whenever I watch a movie that I love with fresh eyes I fall in love all over again. Magic happens before my eyes. This movie was no different. (duh)

There is an incredible appeal to Coco Chanel — fashion designer, limit-pusher, entrepreneur, and over all bad ass woman from the late 19th century to the 1970s. For the love of Auden, she remained unmarried for the duration of her life!

She reminds us that a woman should be classy and fabulous, that we cannot beat at a wall expecting it to turn into a door, that being different can make you irreplaceable, and that fashion plays an important role in the sociopolitical issues of our time.

If you haven’t seen the film, I highly encourage it. And if not that, when you find yourself in times of trouble and insecurity about yourself, think of what Coco said:

I don’t care what you think about me. I don’t think about you at all.

Incredible woman. Right there. If you’re interested in seeing more of her work, the Met has an awesome online archive here.

Love, B

Leave a Reply

