real beauty.

Standard

The last two weeks of the semester are happening, and being the person that I am, I’m running out of things to complete. This means that I should blog about things. But what things? School is school, and I don’t have much else to say about that. I’m socially active these days, but if you know anything about me, you know that that isn’t unusual…and instead of talking about the acts of hate we saw in Boston this week (mostly because I can’t think about it without getting teary), let’s instead look at something else that’s made me cry today.

 

 

My darling sisterbear posted this on The Facebook this morning and I was amazed. I was sitting in my office eating lunch and before I even knew it I was tearing up.

How many of us see ourselves in a distorted light, and can’t get past that to see what other people see? How many of us know people who we see as so light, and beautiful, and glowing, who can’t see that in themselves?

I think the most telling moment of the video is when you see the comparison of the woman saying “My mother told me I had a big jaw” and the people who were describing others saying things such as “Her eyes lit up when she spoke.”

What are we missing when we look in the mirror? What beauty can you not see in yourself, and will you start to look for that now?

We should spend more time appreciating the things that we do like. 

You are beautiful.

Love, B

Leave a Reply

